Phone: 403-854-4481
Fax: 403-854-2803
Toll Free: 1-800-601-3898
Address: Box 670, 101 Palliser Trail
Hanna, AB, T0J 1P0

Board Meeting Highlights - March 16, 2017

2017-2020 Three-year Capital Plan

The Board reviewed the 2017-2020 Three-year Capital Plan and concurrently the most pressing structural needs throughout the division within our facilities. The Delia School rebuild/modernization still remains our top priority as a result of the identified structural issues that presents itself.  Morrin School has been recognized as our second priority as a result of heaving floors and foundational issues under the gymnasium.  The next items that have been identified are J.C. Charyk Hanna School roofing replacement as this process was not a part of the recent school modernization project; Altario School building envelope and mechanical upgrade, and finally the Youngstown School building envelope upgrade.

Budget Guiding Principles

The Board passed a motion to adopt the 2017-2018 Budget Guiding Principles to be used in the development of the 2017-2018 operating budget.  The Board will again endeavor to hold instructional staffing levels at the current 2016-2017 pupil-teacher ratio.  A plan to draw on operational reserves will occur over the next four to five years in order to meet Alberta Educations’ reserve maximum of 5% of revenues.

Indigenous Awareness Workshop

The Indigenous Awareness workshop was held on March 8, 2017 at J.C. Charyk Hanna School with local presenter Jason Sansregret from Consort.  Mr. Sansregret facilitated a full day educational session on the history and legacy of residential schools and strategies for moving forward in the work of reconciliation education and cultural awareness.  The session included the history of residential schools in Canada/Alberta as well as the history of the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement leading to the Alberta Joint Commitment to Action. There was a focus on direction and understanding along with learning opportunities for system and school leaders within the new Teaching Quality Standard and curriculum.


For additional information please contact: Cam McKeage, Superintendent of Schools, Prairie Land Regional Division #25  403.854.4481