September 2021

September 2021

Board of Trustees Meeting

September 21, 2021

Trustee Recognition/Acclaimed Candidates
Trustees were recognized for their years of service on the Board at the meeting: Board Chair Holli Smith 8 years, Board Vice-chair Marsha Tkach 12 years, Barry Davis 8 years, and Gwen Hampton 4 years.

*As of the September 21/2021 Board meeting, Ward 4, Subdivision 1 was still vacant, however, as of September 24, this seat has now been acclaimed by Ken Macfarlane. Prairie Land would like to congratulate all trustees on their acclamations, and to acknowledge Barry Davis and Gwen Hampton for their service to the Board of Trustees of Prairie Land Public School Division.

Elected by AcclamationNumber of
Ward or Electoral
Division Number

(if Applicable)
Berry Creek
♦ Holli Smith
1 WARD 1
Town of Hanna
♦ Lindsay Bond
♦ Shauna Davies
2WARD 2 – Subdivision 1
Youngstown / Hanna Rural
♦ Scott MacPherson
1 WARD 2 – Subdivision 2
♦ Marsha Tkach
1WARD 3 – Subdivision 1
Altario / Consort
♦ Jinel Ference
1WARD 3 – Subdivision 2
Morrin / Munson
1WARD 4 – Subdivision 1
♦ Shandele Battle
1WARD 4 – Subdivision 2

2020-2021 Prairie Land Public School Division Scholarship Recipients
The Board reviewed the successful 2020-2021 Prairie Land Scholarship recipients and congratulated students on their awards.

Scholarship Winner School
Ida Fielding Bursary Amanda Creasy
Liam McKeage
J.C. Charyk, Hanna
J.C. Charyk, Hanna
Norman Alexander Duff MemorialAbbegayle BradyJ.C. Charyk, Hanna
Pioneer Homestead BursaryAnika MoulyConsort
PLRD AchievementJessica Hadwin
Sonya Nielsen
Joseph Van Lagen
PLRD DistinctionPaige KobberstadJ.C. Charyk, Hanna
PLRD EducationJon ThorntonConsort
Special Areas #2 Education Bursary
(Estate of Orlin Graham Pearce)
Jock HeinJ.C. Charyk, Hanna

J.C. Charyk Hanna School Innovation Academy
The Board of Trustees passed a motion to approve an in-year request to provide funding to J.C. Charyk Hanna School for the establishment of their School of Excellence in the amount of $160,000. The school is currently creating the J.C. Charyk Innovation Academy that addresses relevant learning and innovative teaching practice across all curricular areas.

For additional information please contact: Cam McKeage, Superintendent of Schools, Prairie Land Public School Division 403.854.4481